T20 World Cup debutants USA pulled off a stunning super over victory against 2009 winners and 2022 finalists Pakistan on Thursday at the Grand Prairie Cricket Stadium in Dallas. This win is being hailed as one of the biggest upsets in T20 World Cup history and ICC tournaments at large. Today in this article, we take a look at 3 major upsets in the T20 World Cup history ever, since its inaugural season in 2007.

18th ranked USA beat Pakistan in their first ever T20 World Cup

The United States dramatic win was set up by a boundary off the final ball of their run-chase, sending the match to a Super Over. The co-hosts then emerged victorious in the Super Over, marking one of the most significant upsets in cricket history. Pakistan, who have consistently reached at least the semi-final stage in six of the eight men’s T20 World Cups, including being runners-up in 2022, were bested by a USA team that excelled on the day.

Mohammad Amir was chosen to bowl the Super Over for Pakistan, but three wides and a series of overthrows allowed the USA to accumulate 18 runs, with only one boundary hit by Aaron Jones. Saurabh Netravalkar then kept his composure while bowling, sealing an incredible victory for the USA on home soil.

Netherlands beat European giants England in 2009 T20 World Cup

Another notable upset occurred in the 2009 T20 World Cup opener when the Netherlands defeated England, showcasing that no team should be underestimated in T20 cricket. The Netherlands secured a last-ball thriller victory on June 5, 2009, at Lord’s. After England posted 162, thanks to Luke Wright’s 71 runs off 46 balls, the Netherlands stayed in contention with determined performances from Ryan ten Doeschate and Peter Borren.

Stuart Broad bowled the final over, and with two runs required off the last ball, Edgar Schiferli managed to edge a delivery towards Broad. In an attempt to run out the non-striker, Broad’s overthrow allowed the Netherlands to score the needed two runs and secure a historic win.

Zimbabwe upset mighty Australia in T20 World Cup 2007

In the inaugural T20 World Cup, another major upset occurred when Zimbabwe defeated Australia, the reigning 50-over World Cup champions, in their first T20 World Cup match in Cape Town. Zimbabwe restricted the Ricky Ponting-led Australia to 138/9 and chased the target down, with a young Brendan Taylor scoring an unbeaten 60 to guide his team to victory in the last over of the match.

Share this post!

Write a Reply or Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *