The Australian Women’s Cricket Team have named a 15-member squad for the upcoming edition of the Women’s Ashes, which is slated to commence on January 20 in Australia.

26-year-old leg-spinner Alana King has found a place in the squad ahead of Amanda-Jade Wellington. Alana played a crucial role in guiding Perth Scorchers to their WBBL title in the recently concluded edition of the competition. She picked up 16 wickets with a decent economy of 5.84.

Amanda, on the other hand, with 23 wickets to her name was the highest wicket-taker last season. However, the selectors opted to leave her out from the 15-member squad for the series against England.  Here’s bbl points table 2022 updates.

Slow left-arm spinner Jess Jonassen and pacer Megan Schutt have returned to the Australian squad, having missed the series against India due to injuries. However, the club will miss the services of leg-spinner Georgia Wareham and left-arm spinner Sophie Molineux due to injuries.

Molineux is out due to a foot injury but is expected to recover ahead of the ICC Women’s World Cup, which will take place in New Zealand. Meanwhile, Georgia Wareham will be out of action until July at least due to an ACL injury.

National selector Shawn Flegler stated that the selection process was tough, with many players coming off excellent performances in the WBBL.

“This was a tough selection process with so many players coming off strong WBBL tournaments, but we’re confident we’ve selected a balanced, all-round squad with players who can perform across all three formats,” national selector Shawn Flegler said.

Shawn Flegler added that Alana King has a perfect opportunity ahead of her to prove her mettle and make a place for herself in the Australian Women’s Team.

“The loss of Georgia Wareham to injury has presented Alana King with a great opportunity to show what she can do at this level and having improved in all facets of her game over the last few seasons, she’s well placed to play an important role in the series.”

Australia Squad for the Women’s Ashes

Darcie Brown, Nicola Carey, Hannah Darlington, Ashleigh Gardner, Rachael Haynes (vc), Alyssa Healy, Jess Jonassen, Alana King, Meg Lanning (c), Tahlia McGrath, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Annabel Sutherland, Tayla Vlaemincka

Australia vs England Full Schedule

The Women’s Ashes series starts with 3 T20I matches between January 20 and 23 at the Adelaide Oval, followed by a Test match at the Manuka Oval.

Finally, both nations will square off in a three-match ODI series. The first ODI will take place at the Manuka Oval, while the Junction Oval in Victoria will host the remaining two ODI matches.

January 20: 1st T20I

January 22: 2nd T20I

January 23: 3rd T20I

January 27-30: Only-Test match

February 3: 1st ODI

February 6: 2nd ODI

February 8: 3rd ODI

Get free expert cricket tips and tricks here in our website.

Share this post!