BBL 2021-22: Cricket Australia’s biggest domestic tournament, Big Bash League, is facing its worst nightmare. In the past few weeks, every team has been affected by suspected Covid-19 cases. The league is in its 5th week now and there are no chances for it to get postponed.

Earlier today, the BBL committee announced a revised schedule for the tournament to tackle the outbreak of the disease. This means that all the teams will be relocating to Victoria. Melbourne will be the new franchise base for all the teams.

To give you a brief, all the fixtures between January 10-16 will take place at Victoria as well. In the official statement of the BBL committee, it was mentioned that some of the fixtures will take place in other states as well. Check the big bash league 2022 schedule here.

Due to these changes, Sixers and Thunder will play their January 15 fixture at Sydney. Similarly, for the moment Brisbane Heat and Adelaide Strikers will play their January 12 fixture at Brisbane. Gabba will be responsible to host the match between the two.

BBL 2021-22: BBL Announces 'New Schedule' to Battle Covid-19

BBL 2021-22: BBL Announces ‘New Schedule’ to Battle Covid-19

  • Rank



    Pay with

    Welcome Bonus

    Bet Now

  • 1

    Megapari logo

    Megapari Review

    • Netbanking, Paytm, UPI

    • +1000 live sport events

    • Great bonuses and offers


    EXCLUSIVE CricTips Welcome Bonus

    130% up to ₹22,100

    Promo Code: CRICTIPS

    Megapari Review

    • Netbanking, Paytm, UPI

    • +1000 live sport events

    • Great bonuses and offers

It was also declared by the BBL committee that they will arrange private jets after the end of these fixtures. Australia is witnessing a sudden unexpected rise in the covid cases from the past few weeks. Because of the same reason, Cricket Australia and BBL committee have taken the final decision to reschedule the upcoming BBL matches.

Updated Schedule of BBL 2021-22

Below is the revised schedule provided by Cricket Australia and BBL committee.

January 8:

Melbourne Renegades vs Sydney Thunder, Marvel Stadium, 6:05 PM

Brisbane Heat vs Hobart Hurricanes, The Gabba, 8:30 PM

January 9:

Sydney Sixers vs Perth Scorchers, Coffs International Stadium, 7:15 PM

January 10:

Hobart Hurricanes vs Sydney Thunder, MCG, 2:10 PM

Melbourne Stars vs Adelaide Strikers, MCG, 7:15 PM

January 11:

Perth Scorchers vs Melbourne Stars, GMHBA Stadium, 2:10 PM

Melbourne Renegades vs Sydney Sixers, GMHBA Stadium, 7:15 PM

January 12:

Brisbane Heat vs Adelaide Strikers, The Gabba, 7:15 PM

January 13:

Sydney Thunder vs Hobart Hurricanes, Marvel Stadium, 3:45 PM

Melbourne Renegades vs Melbourne Stars, Marvel Stadium, 7:15 PM

January 14:

Adelaide Strikers vs Perth Scorchers, Adelaide Oval, 10:40 AM

January 15:

Adelaide Strikers vs Melbourne Stars, Adelaide Oval, 10:40 AM

Sydney Sixers vs Sydney Thunder, SCG, 6:40 PM

January 16:

Melbourne Stars vs Brisbane Heat, MCG, 7:15 PM

Official Statement

In a combined statement of Cricket Australia and BBL committee, they have mentioned a clear reason for rescheduling the upcoming fixtures. The topmost priority of BBL organizers and Cricket Australia is the health and safety of players and staff involved in the tournament. Just to refresh your memory, in the past few weeks, several players from Brisbane Heat were tested positive for coronavirus. As a result, there was no other option to play the game with their second-string team against Melbourne Renegades.

“The past week has thrown many COVID-related challenges the Big Bash’s way, but throughout we have remained steadfast in our resolve to safely and successfully complete the season. These changes are designed to help the League and Clubs deliver on this, while also reducing risks to players, support staff, and the matches themselves.” said the statement from the officials.

Check the top betting apps for smartphone here.

Share this post!