Liam Guthrie got an uninviting feat of bowling most expensive spell in BBL history to his name. In the 23rd game of the season,  Melbourne Stars defeated Brisbane Heat at Gabba in a high-scoring game by 20 runs. Things continue to stay grim for Brisbane Heat as they suffer another defeat this season.

However, the night proved even grimmer for Liam Guthrie. Guthrie conceded 70 runs in 4 overs, only to etch his name to bowl the most expensive spell in BBL history. Previously, Ben Dwarshuis held this record. He conceded 61 runs in his spell against the same opponents last season.

Guthrie now jointly holds the record for bowling the most expensive spell with Basil Thampi. While playing for Sunrisers Hyderabad in a game against RCB in IPL 2018, Thampi too had conceded 70 runs. Watch bbl live stream here.

Bowlers who have conceded more than 70 in T20 Cricket

Ben Sanderson

Ben Sanderson

However, there are bowlers who have conceded more than 70 runs in T20 games. Sarmad Anwar of the Sialkot Lions holds the record for bowling the most expensive over in T20 cricket. He conceded 81 runs while playing a game against the Lahore Lions in the Super Eight T20 Cup in 2011. He was hammered at a whopping economy rate of 20.25. Ben Sanderson of Northamptonshire is second on this list. While playing against Yorkshire, he was hammered for 75 runs in his spell of 4 overs.

Kasun Rajitha of Sri Lanka holds the record for bowling in the most expensive spell in the T20 International. In the first T20 of Sri Lanka’s tour of Australia in 2019, Kasun Rajitha conceded 75 runs to garner this uninvited feat.

The partnership between Cartwright and Clarke helped Melbourne Stars recover from initial blows

After suffering initial blows, Joe Clarke and Hilton Cartwright put up a partnership to propel the Stars to a high-end total. The score was 16/3 when Clarke and Cartwright took charge and ensured that the Stars come out of this initial collapse.

Both stitched a partnership of 151 runs and inflicted misery, particularly on Liam Guthrie. However, Guthrie managed to pick two wickets and ended his match figures at 4-0-70-2.  Clarke scored 85 off 44 and Cartwright scored 77 off 44 deliveries with 5 and 8 sixes respectively to their names.

In response to the mammoth target of 208, Chris Lynn(57off 34) and Ben Duckett(54 off 35) put up a fight with their fireworks. However, they were not sufficient. In the end, the Brisbane Heat could only manage to get 187/9 and fell short of 20 runs. Here are the most trusted cricket betting apps in india.

Share this post!