CWG 2022: Finally, cricket has returned to one of the mammoth sporting events, the Commonwealth Games. The last time we saw cricket in the multi-nation event was 24 years earlier. Birmingham is set to host the Commonwealth Games 2022. Although, this time cricket will be represented by Women only, with the possibility of men’s competition in the 2026 edition. The sport of cricket will take place at the Edgbaston Cricket Ground. Eight teams are participating in this tournament starting from July 29. India will play the inaugural match against the defending champions Australia. Are you seeking the official betting sites in India? Learn how to find the right one for you and explore your sports betting options.

[betting_pick title=" Pick of the day" text="England women to win the toss and the match as well" operator="77" odds="1.90" game="51980"]

CWG 2022: The Groups

CWG 2022: Edgbaston Cricket Ground

The Eight teams are divided into two groups of four each who will take part in 16 matches. The shortest format will feature this year in the tournament. Unlike other ICC tournaments, this one will have a third-place match for the bronze medal. The losers of the semi-final will face each other for the bronze medal.
The groups are as
Group A: Australia, Barbados, India, Pakistan

Group B: England, New Zealand, South Africa, Sri Lanka

Want to bet on cricket on the move? Discover India’s best betting apps here on our site.

Where Is West Indies?

West Indies is a group of nations that compete in the Commonwealth Games separately. The board of the West Indies organizes an event called T20 Blaze to select a team to represent the country. The champion of the T20 Blaze represents the nation. Because of the global pandemic of covid, the Caribbeans were unable to organize the tournament. So the defending champions, Barbados, will represent the Windies.

Barbadian players who are regulars in the West Indies women’s cricket squad include Hayley Matthews, Deandra Dottin, the Knight twins Kycia and Kyshona, Shamilia Connell, and Shakera Selman.

Qualification of other teams

England, being the hosts, will directly qualify for the CWG 2022. The remaining five spots are filled according to the ICC T20 rankings India, Australia, New Zealand, South Africa and Pakistan are in the top five except England as per the rankings.

Qualifiers that took place in Malaysia concluded the final team.

Chamari Athapaththu’s Sri Lanks defeated Bangladesh, Scotland, Malaysia, and Kenya for the final spot. Sri Lanka remained unbeaten in the tournament and Athapaththu was the leading run-scorer of the tournament. She scored 48 of just 28 deliveries and landed the Lankans in Birmingham to represent the nation in the multi-nation event.

Is this the first time cricket featuring in CWG?

This is not the first time cricket is featuring as an event in CWG. Back in 1998, the men’s ODI tournament featured in Kuala-Lumpur Games.

South Africa won the gold medal after defeating Australia by 184 points. Jacques Kallis’ 44, Mike Rindel’s 67 (106) points, and Shaun Pollock’s flawless effort on 4/19 all contributed to the win. After defeating Sri Lanka in the third-place match, New Zealand won the bronze medal.

Chances for India to get a medal

The Indian women’s squad appears to be in good shape ahead of the CWG 2022. The team is young and just recently defeated Sri Lanka in a series. India is indeed the favorite to win a medal in the competition.

Will cricket make it to the CWG 2026 Australia?

The Women’s T20 tournament is taking place this time. ICC with CWG committee will look to have both men’s and women’s categories in the sport of cricket in 2026. Read Mobile Bet365 reviews here and learn more about how online betting works. So what are you waiting for? Download the app now!

Share this post!