The All-India Women’s Selection Committee on Wednesday announced India’s squad for the upcoming ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2023 which begins in South Africa on February 10. Shikha Pandey has been included in India’s 15-member team for the mega event. Harmanpreet Kaur has been appointed as the captain of the team.

Featured Pick

First ball of the match will be a dot ball

REN vs SIX | 30 Dec 13:00 PMBet ₹500, payout ₹750

Megapari Welcome Offer

130% up to ₹22,100


Alongside naming the squad for the next year’s World Cup, the selection committee also announced the squad for the Tri-series T20 World Cup. The series will feature the hosts South Africa and West Indies and is scheduled to start on January 19. Shikha is a part of both squads. Her addition to the squad will further strengthen India’s fast bowling department. She will partner Renuka Singh Thakur, Anjali Sarvani, and Pooja Vastrakar in the four-member pace attack.

Experienced Shikha Brings Value to the Team

Shikha Pandey Returns as India Announces Squad for the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2022
Shikha Pandey Returns as India Announces Squad for the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2022

Despite being out of form, she is being picked by the selection committee as brings a wealth of experience to the pace attack. India’s second most successful seamer in T20Is will hope to return to form ahead of the global T20 event. The BCCI stated that all-rounder Pooja Vastrakar’s addition would be subject to fitness. If she is declared unfit then the team can bring reinforcement in the form of a reserve player. Vastrakar had recently missed India’s home series against Australia. Left-arm seamer Anjali Sarvani, who made an impressive debut in the recently-concluded home series, is all set to feature in her first T20 World Cup.

India will kick start their World Cup campaign on 12th February when they will square off with arch-rivals Pakistan in Cape Town. It is pertinent to mention that India has been placed in Group 2 and is clubbed with England, West Indies, Pakistan, and Ireland.

India’s squad for ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2023: Harmanpreet Kaur (Captain), Smriti Mandhana (Vice-Captain), Shafali Verma, Yastika Bhatia (Wk), Richa Ghosh (Wk) Jemimah Rodrigues, Harleen Deol, Deepti Sharma, Devika Vaidya, Radha Yadav, Renuka Thakur, Anjali Sarvani, Pooja Vastrakar, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Shikha Pandey

Reserve Players: Sabbhineni Meghana, Sneh Rana, Meghna Singh.

India’s squad for Tri-series: Harmanpreet Kaur (Captain), Smriti Mandhana (Vice Captain), Yastika Bhatia (Wk), Jemimah Rodrigues, Harleen Deol, Deepti Sharma, Devika Vaidya, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Radha Yadav, Renuka Thakur, Meghna Singh, Anjali Sarvani, Sushma Verma (Wk), Amanjot Kaur, Pooja Vastrakar, Sabbhineni Meghana, Sneh Rana, Shikha Pandey.

Share this post!