While the BCCI has not clearly stated that they are not considered senior players in the T20s henceforth, the Ind vs NZ T20 squad is an indication. The loss of the T20 World Cup has deeply affected the BCCI to take strong actions now. Since the multinational tournament, India has played 2 T20 bilaterals. The first one was Ind vs NZ right after the T20 World Cup and the other one was Ind vs Ban. Both series saw Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli not included in the squad.

Earlier when they missed the Ind vs NZ series, it was assumed that they were rested for the Bangladesh series. Rohit Sharma, the Indian captain was recovering from an injury during Ind vs SL T20 but what about Virat Kohli? Kohli has been in great touch and was India’s highest run-scorer in the T20 World Cup. Additionally, both Rohit and Kohli have shown great intent in the recently wrapped series.

Sunil Gavaskar feels new selection committee aims to build a new team

Ind vs NZ: Sunil Gavaskar Opens Up on Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma Missing T20s
Prithvi Shaw receives call-up for Ind vs NZ T20

Speaking about BCCI not considering them for the Ind vs NZ T20 series, Sunil Gavaskar justified that the board was looking for a new team. “The way I see it is that, the next T20 World Cup is in 2024, next year, and the new selection committee that has come, wants to give more opportunities to the younger players. That doesn’t mean that Kohli and Rohit won’t be considered anymore. And if they have an impressive form throughout 2023 then they have to be in the team. The other factor is with the Australia series starting, the selectors might have wanted to rest them for the big contest so that they can make a fresh start against the Aussies and that will benefit India,” he said.

When India last toured New Zealand in November, the Hardik Pandya-led side won the Ind vs NZ T20 series but lost the ODI series. The contest between the two sides wasn’t fair with rain interruptions in almost all the games. The men in blue will be pumped up to face New Zealand now with a new team. There have been changes on the opposition side since the last Ind vs NZ series. Kane Williamson has left the captaincy and Mitchell Santner will lead the side for this series.

India’s side for Ind vs NZ T20:

Hardik Pandya (Captain), Suryakumar Yadav (vice-captain), Jitesh Sharma (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh, Rahul Tripathi, Umran Malik, Shivam Mavi, Prithvi Shaw, Mukesh Kumar

Share this post!