WTC Final: The much-awaited final of the World Test Championship 2021–23 is just two weeks away. On the other hand, the ICC revealed on Friday the prize money that will be distributed to the winner, runners-up, and other teams that took part in this championship. The final will kick off on June 7, Wednesday, and will be played until Sunday, June 10, at the Oval. It will be the second chance for the Indians, as they lost the final of the inaugural edition to New Zealand.

Pick of the Day

1st Innings Runs - Match: 150 or More

GT vs MI | 26 May 19:30 PMBet ₹500, payout ₹550

Dafabet Welcome Offer

UP TO ₹16,000 throughout the IPL


New Zealand beat India in 2021 to become the first WTC champion. Thus, the Men in Blue will have a big job on their hands to complete the unfinished business. Notably, Pat Cummins and his men were the first team to qualify for the finals. India beat them 3-1 in the four-match Border-Gavaskar Trophy to book the second seat in the WTC Final.

WTC Final: ICC announces the Prize Money for All WTC Participants

WTC Final 2023: ICC Announces Huge Prize Money for Winners, Runners-up and Other Teams in WTC
WTC Final 2023: ICC Announces Huge Prize Money for Winners, Runners-up and Other Teams in WTC

According to the announcement, both finalists will get a big amount of money to be part of the final. The winner between India and Australia will get an amount of $1.6 million, and the runners-up will receive a sum of $800,000. The total prize money for the WTC is $3.8 million. Notably, the prize money is the same as it was in the inaugural edition in 2021. After winning the final, New Zealand got $1.6 million, while India received $800,000 as runners-up.

Best IPL Odds Available

On the other hand, every nine WTC participants will receive some amount. Third-ranked South Africa will get an amount of $450,000. England, which made a remarkable comeback, finished the table in fourth place. They will get a sum of $350,000. Sri Lanka finished fifth and will get $200,000. The Sri Lankan team was in the race to the final but lost a two-match test series against New Zealand and slipped to fifth place.

New Zealand, Pakistan, West Indies, and Bangladesh ended up in the 6th, 7th, 8th, and 9th spots, respectively. Each of them will get $100,000. Apart from the money, the winner will also get the glorious WTC mess. India will look to get the better of Australia and get their hands on the championship. Some Indian players have already reached England and are preparing. However, others, including skipper Rohit Sharma, will fly after the IPL final.

Share this post!

Write a Reply or Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *