In a candid interview with Cricbuzz, legendary cricketer AB de Villiers let cricket aficionados into his thoughts and choices when it comes to picking an all-time IPL XI. An intriguing mix of power hitters, technical maestros, and potent bowlers make up this list, showing the diverse talents that have graced the Indian Premier League.

De Villiers mused, “Last night I was thinking that if I pick my IPL XI and I include myself, how bad would that look?” A self-aware remark that sets the tone for a team that is a blend of sheer talent and undeniable skill.

ABD via Cricbuzz

Opening the innings, De Villiers opts for Virender Sehwag and Rohit Sharma.

He recollected, “So, opening the batting, I would pick someone whom I started with at Delhi, Viru (Virender Sehwag) at 1 and someone who I think has played some of the best cricket in the world in the last five years, Rohit at No. 2.”

ABD via Cricbuzz

At the crucial No. 3 position, Virat Kohli makes the cut. Kohli’s impressive IPL record and consistency make him an obvious choice for any all-time XI. But it’s the No. 4 position that presents a pleasant conundrum.

“Then obviously Virat at No. 3, followed by I’d say either Williamson, or Smith, or myself, these are the two replacements,” he shared.

ABD via Cricbuzz

Ben Stokes comes in at No. 5

De Villiers explains his rationale, “I’d put Stokes because obviously we know what he can do with the bat, but also considering that extra seaming option.”

ABD via Cricbuzz

The invaluable MS Dhoni occupies the sixth spot and is chosen as the captain. His leadership, strategic acumen, and finishing abilities are unparalleled, making him a perfect fit for this dream team.

Completing the middle order is Ravindra Jadeja.

“At No. 7, I’d put Jaddu, Mr. Jadeja,”

ABD via Cricbuzz

AB mentioned. The next spots are occupied by bowlers, with Rashid Khan’s stellar spinning prowess coming in at No. 8. Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kagiso Rabada, and Jasprit Bumrah constitute the lethal pace trio, rounding off the team.

“Got the two spinners and then Bumrah, Rabada, and Bhuvi as fast bowlers. So that pretty much covers everything.”

ABD via Cricbuzz

AB De Villiers’ All-Time IPL XI:

  • Virender Sehwag
  • Rohit Sharma
  • Virat Kohli
  • Kane Williamson/Steve Smith/AB de Villiers
  • Ben Stokes
  • MS Dhoni (c & wk)
  • Ravindra Jadeja
  • Rashid Khan
  • Bhuvneshwar Kumar
  • Kagiso Rabada
  • Jasprit Bumrah

With such an ensemble of players, this hypothetical team would undoubtedly be a treat to watch. De Villiers’ choices emphasize the rich talent pool in the IPL and how it has become a platform for the world’s best to showcase their prowess over the years.

For all the cricket enthusiasts, these insights from a cricketing genius like De Villiers are both informative and delightful. With the IPL gaining more prominence each year, it will be fascinating to see if any new talents in the coming seasons can make their way into such elite lists.

Share this post!

Write a Reply or Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *