In a display of sheer dominance, Chennai Super Kings (CSK) emerged triumphant with a commanding victory over Delhi Capitals (DC). Their exceptional performance translated into a remarkable 77-run win, leaving no doubt about their superiority on the field. This resounding triumph secured CSK’s well-deserved spot in the playoffs, as they accumulated an impressive tally of 17 points from 14 matches. Not only did they secure their place in the next stage of the tournament, but CSK also showcased their prowess with a commendable Net Run Rate (NRR) of +0.65. As a result, they currently find themselves firmly positioned in the 2nd spot on the points table, solidifying their standing among the crème de la crème of the competition.

Featured Pick

First ball of the match - 1 Run

RCB vs GT | 21 May 19:30 PMBet ₹500, payout ₹1500

Dafabet Welcome Offer

UP TO ₹16,000 throughout the IPL


DC VS CSK, Match Highlights:

Chennai Super Kings got off to a brilliant start after winning the toss.

– Devon Conway and Ruturaj Gaikwad formed an ideal opening partnership for CSK.

– CSK quickly reached the 50-run mark in just five overs.

– Gaikwad relied on hitting sixes while Conway showcased vintage cricketing shots.

– Gaikwad completed his half-century in 37 deliveries as CSK amassed 87 runs in the first 10 overs.

– The openers shifted gears, scoring 53 runs in the following 4 overs.

– Chetan Sakariya broke the partnership by dismissing Gaikwad, who had scored an impressive 79 runs.

– Shivam Dube entered the middle and began with a six, joining Conway to rebuild the innings.

– Dube added more pressure with two additional sixes before being dismissed by Khaleel Ahmed for 22 runs.

– Anrich Nortje took the wicket of Conway in the subsequent over.

– Conway played a brilliant inning of 87 runs, falling 13 short of a century.

– Ravindra Jadeja provided an outstanding finish for Chennai, scoring 20 runs off just 7 deliveries.

– MS Dhoni promoted himself up the order but had limited opportunities to face deliveries.

– Chennai Super Kings concluded their innings with a commanding total of 223 runs in their allotted 20 overs.

– Defending a low total, CSK’s Tushar Deshpande made an impact early by removing Prithvi Shaw, thanks to an outstanding catch by Ambati Rayudu at mid-off.

– Deepak Chahar further disrupted the Capitals’ momentum in the powerplay by dismissing Phil Salt and Rilee Rossouw.

– Warner, after a slow start in the powerplay, changed gears and reached his fifty off just 32 balls.

– Warner intensified his attack, particularly targeting Jadeja’s final over, which went for 23 runs.

– Warner showcased his ability to hit spin, including a switch hit for a six, leaving no room for Jadeja to settle.

– Despite Warner’s counter-hitting and wickets falling around him, Delhi Capitals struggled due to their top-order collapse and a high asking rate.

– Warner eventually lost his wicket, bringing an end to Delhi’s innings.

– In the final over, Maheesh Theekshana displayed brilliance by taking two wickets in consecutive balls, narrowly missing out on a hat-trick.

– Chennai Super Kings secured a convincing victory by 77 runs, securing the second position in the standings.

– They will now face Gujarat Titans (GT) in Qualifier 1, aiming to advance further in the tournament.

DC VS CSK, 1st Inning Scorecard:

CSK BattersDC Bowlers
Ruturaj Gaikwad- 79(50)
Devon Conway- 87(52)
Shivam Dube- 22(9)
MS Dhoni- 5(4)*
Ravindra Jadeja- 20(7)*
Khaleel Ahmed- 1/45 (4)
Lalit Yadav- 0/32 (2)
Axar Patel- 0/32 (3)
Anrich Nortje- 1/43 (4)
Chetan Sakariya- 1/36 (4)
Kuldeep Yadav- 0/34 (3)

DC VS CSK, 2nd Inning Scorecard:

DC BattersCSK Bowlers
Prithvi Shaw- 5(7)
David Warner- 86 (58)
Philip Salt- 3(6)
Rilee Rossouw- 0(1)
Yash Dhull- 13(15)
Axar Patel- 15(8)
Aman Hakim Khan- 7(9)
Lalit Yadav- 6(12)
Anrich Nortje- 0(1)
Kuldeep Yadav- 0(1)
Chetan Sakariya- 0(2)
Deepak Chahar- 3/22 (4)
Tushar Deshpande- 1/26 (4)
Maheesh Theekshana- 2/23 (4)
Ravindra Jadeja- 1/50 (4)
Matheesha Pathirana- 2/22 (4)

Best IPL Odds Available

DC VS CSK, Match Result:

Chennai Super Kings won by 77 runs

Share this post!

Write a Reply or Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *