In an awe-inspiring performance, amidst the fervent support of their home crowd at Chepauk, Chennai Super Kings (CSK) clinched their rightful place in the illustrious final of IPL 2023. With a resounding 15-run triumph, they gracefully overpowered the defending champions, Gujarat Titans (GT).

Featured Pick

Mumbai Indians will hit most sixes

LSG vs MI | 24 May 19:30 PMBet ₹500, payout ₹970

Dafabet Welcome Offer

UP TO ₹16,000 throughout the IPL


GT VS CSK, Match Highlights:

GT VS CSK, Last Match Scorecard: Highlights and Results for IPL 2023 Qualifier 1
GT VS CSK, Last Match Scorecard: Highlights and Results for IPL 2023 Qualifier 1

– Gujarat Titans won the toss and opted to bowl first.

– Rurutaj and Conway formed the opening pair for Chennai Super Kings.

– Initially, Gaikwad was dismissed by Nalkande, but the decision was overturned due to a no-ball.

– Gaikwad seized the opportunity and launched an attack on the opposition bowlers.

– Conway faced some challenges but held his ground and provided steady support.

– Chennai Super Kings amassed 49 runs in the powerplay phase.

– Among the Gujarat bowlers, Shami proved to be the most economical.

– Gaikwad reached his fifty in just 37 deliveries, laying a solid foundation for Chennai Super Kings.

– Mohit Sharma claimed Gaikwad’s wicket for 60 runs in his second over.

– Dube entered the crease but was dismissed by Noor Ahmed in the subsequent over, resulting in Chennai’s second wicket falling at a score of 90.

– Rahane and Conway built a brief partnership of 31 runs.

– Rahane attempted to accelerate the scoring rate but was caught by Shubman Gill in the 15th over.

– Shami then removed Conway from the field, having scored 40 runs.

– In the later overs, Ravindra Jadeja, Moeen Ali, and Rayudu displayed aggressive stroke play.

– Their contributions helped Chennai Super Kings post a competitive total of 172 runs with the loss of 7 wickets.

– Shubman Gill and Wriddhiman Saha opened the chase for Gujarat Titans.

– Chennai Super Kings bowled tightly from the start, creating pressure on the batsmen.

– In the third over, Chahar dismissed Wriddhiman Saha, giving Chennai an early breakthrough.

– Despite Gill’s efforts to stabilize the innings, Gujarat only managed to score 41 runs in the powerplay, losing two wickets.

– Theekshana and Jadeja maintained a disciplined bowling performance, denying the batsmen any room for big shots.

– Theekshana struck a vital blow by dismissing skipper Hardik Pandya in the last over of the powerplay, adding to Gujarat’s pressure.

– Shanaka and Gill attempted to build a partnership, but their progress was slow and they struggled to time the ball.

– Credit goes to Dhoni for making the right bowling changes at the right time, utilizing the spinners effectively.

– In the 11th over, Jadeja removed Shanaka, further enhancing Chennai’s control over the match.

– Jadeja struck again in his last over, claiming the important wicket of Miller and strengthening Chennai’s position.

– Chennai succeeded in keeping Gill quiet, putting him under pressure despite the different pitch conditions.

– Gill, being an in-form player, showcased his ability to perform anywhere, but Chennai’s strategy contained him effectively.

– Chahar bowled the final over and dismissed Gill for 42 runs.

– Rashid Khan played a useful cameo of 30 runs, but it wasn’t enough as Chennai Super Kings secured a 15-run victory.

– With this win, Chennai booked their spot in the Final, which will take place in Ahmedabad.

GT VS CSK, 1st Inning Scorecard:

CSK BattersGT Bowlers
Ruturaj Gaikwad- 60(44)
Devon Conway- 40(34)
Shivam Dube- 1(3)
Ajinkya Rahane- 17(10)
Ambati Rayudu- 17(9)
Ravindra Jadeja- 22(16)
MS Dhoni- 1(2)
Moeen Ali- 9(4)*
Mohammed Shami- 2/28 (4)
Darshan Nalkande- 1/44 (4)
Rashid Khan- 1/37 (4)
Noor Ahmad- 1/29 (4)
Mohit Sharma- 2/31 (4)

GT VS CSK, 2nd Inning Scorecard:

GT BattersCSK Bowlers
Wriddhiman Saha- 12(11)
Shubman Gill- 42(38)
Hardik Pandya- 8(7)
Dasun Shanaka- 17(16)
David Miller- 4(6)
Vijay Shankar- 14(10)
Rahul Tewatia- 3(5)
Rashid Khan- 30(16)
Darshan Nalkande- 0(1)
Noor Ahmad- 7(5)*
Mohammed Shami- 5(5)
Deepak Chahar- 2/29 (4)
Tushar Deshpande- 1/43 (4)
Maheesh Theekshana- 2/28 (4)
Ravindra Jadeja- 2/18 (4)
Matheesha Pathirana- 2/37 (4)

Best IPL Odds Available

GT VS CSK, Match Result:

Chennai Super Kings won the Qualifier 1 by 15 runs.

Share this post!

Write a Reply or Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *