As released in a media advisory on 25th February, the IPL Governing Council, in a meeting, made some important decisions for the upcoming IPL 2022 season. The dates, fixtures, venues, and “virtual” groups were finalised in the meeting. The council probably felt the need for groups because of the inclusion of two new franchises and each team won’t play against every other team twice.

For legit IPL Cricket betting sites and IPL match predictions, do check our site.

The groups were decided on the basis of the championships won and the number of appearances in the IPL finals. Mumbai Indians, Kolkata Knight Riders, Rajasthan Royals, Delhi Capitals and Lucknow Super Giants are in ‘Group A’ while Chennai Super Kings, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Punjab Kings, and Gujarat Titans formed the ‘Group B’.

Salman Butt Speaks on the Group Format of IPL 2022:

The former Pakistani captain Salman Butt spoke about the new group format on his official YouTube channel. He said that he prefers a single league format in which each team plays one match against all other teams. This round-robin format was followed in the World Cup 2019.

Salman said,

“I would like a single league format. Everyone plays everyone once. I have never been a fan of two or three group thing.”

IPL 2022: Former Pakistan Captain, Salman Butt, Isn’t a Fan of the New Group Format
IPL 2022: Former Pakistan Captain, Salman Butt, Isn’t a Fan of the New Group Format

The group format was previously tried in IPL 2011 when the tournament expanded to a 10-team competition with Kochi Tuskers Kerala and Pune Warrior coming in. Acknowledging the addition of two new franchises in the competition, he added,

“There are more number of teams, though, so let’s see how it pans out.”

The upcoming IPL season will commence on 26th March and the final will be played on 29th May. All the 70 league matches will be played in Maharashtra across four stadiums in Mumbai and Pune. The schedule is likely to be released soon and the venues for playoffs will be decided later.

Crictips Opinion:

Each team will play 14 games in the league stage, not 18, probably because of the ongoing broadcasting deal with Star Sports. The IPL 2022 is the last season within this deal and the regular format (of each team facing all other teams twice) might return in 2023. 

IPL 2022 fixtures
IPL 2022 fixtures

The groups are just virtual, and there will be still a single points table. Even though the teams will continue playing 14 matches in the league stage as in earlier seasons, the race to playoffs is likely to be tougher this time. Looking for more Bet365 betting tips? Read here on our site and learn them from the experts.

Share this post!