Top New Zealand star players such as Kane Williamson, Tim Southee, Devon Conway, and Mitchell Santner have decided not to take part in the three-match ODI series against Sri Lanka at home instead they will provide their services to their respective franchises in the IPL 2023, scheduled to kickstart on March 31. On the same day (March 31), the ODI series will end. 

Pick of the Day

Top Royal Challengers Bangalore Player: Ellyse Perry

UP-W vs RCB-W | 15 Mar 19:30 PMBet ₹500, payout ₹1725

Dafabet Welcome Offer

UP TO ₹16,000 throughout the IPL


New Zealand Cricket (NZC) on Tuesday, March 14, confirmed that their contracted players will not be available to take part in the ODI series as they have committed to the IPL 2023. The statement was released while the board announced the squad for the ODIs against Sri Lanka.

After the completion of the ongoing Test series against Sri Lanka at home, the first batch of Kiwi players will depart for India to take part in the cash-rich league. Williamson, Southee, Conway, and Santner are the ones who’ll reach India early. While other IPL stars such as Finn Allen, Lockie Ferguson, and Glenn Phillips are slated to be released following the first ODI on March 25. It is worth noting that the departure of the aforementioned players will see Mark Chapman, Ben Lister, and Henry Nicholls join the Black Caps side after the first ODI. There’s no information on Trent Boult’s arrival who is a non-contracted New Zealand cricketer. But it is expected that he will arrive well before the time of his team’s first game of the season.

Phillips, Ferguson and Allen to Arrive Late in India

IPL 2023: New Zealand Players to Arrive Before March 31
IPL 2023: New Zealand Players to Arrive Before March 31

“The squad for the three match ANZ ODI Series will assemble in two phases with the first group featuring players also participating in the Indian Premier League. Following the first ODI at Eden Park on the 25th of March, Finn Allen (Royal Challengers Bangalore), Lockie Ferguson (Kolkata Knight Riders) and Glenn Phillips (Sunrisers Hyderabad) will leave the squad and travel to India. ODI Squad regulars Kane Williamson (Gujarat Titans), Tim Southee (Kolkata Knight Riders) and Devon Conway (Chennai Super Kings) will be released early to the IPL after participating in the ongoing Dulux Test Series against Sri Lanka, as will Mitchell Santner (Chennai Super Kings) at the request of his franchise,” said an NZC press release.

Best WPL Odds Available

It is being said that the New Zealand stars playing in the IPL will be available for the entire competition. This comes as a major boost for teams like CSK, RR, SRH, GT, RCB, and KKR as they will be having their overseas recruits available for the whole season.

List of New Zealand players participating in IPL 2023:

  • Chennai Super Kings: Devon Conway, Mitchell Santner
  • Kolkata Knight Riders: Tim Southee, Lockie Ferguson
  • Gujarat Titans: Kane Williamson
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore: Finn Allen
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad: Glenn Phillips
  • Rajasthan Royals: Trent Boult
Share this post!