On May 4, Thursday, the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) secured a nail-biting five-run victory against the Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) in the match 27 of the IPL 2023 held at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad. With this win, KKR has clinched its fourth victory of the season and has reached eight points. On the other hand, SRH, who failed to register a win, remained on six points, causing a major setback to their chances of making it to the playoffs.

Featured Pick

Shubman Gill to score over 27.5 runs

RR vs GT | 5 May 19:30 PMBet ₹500, payout ₹935

Dafabet Welcome Offer

UP TO ₹16,000 throughout the IPL


KKR’s start to their match was disappointing as opener Rahmanullah Gurbaz couldn’t replicate his previous game’s success against Gujarat Titans. Gurbaz attempted to flick a length ball from the left-arm quick Marco Jansen over mid-wicket but was late and top-edged it, leading to a catch by Harry Brook at mid-on.

Jansen claimed his second wicket when Venkatesh Iyer departed five balls later. Iyer unsuccessfully tried to hook a short ball from Jansen, and wicketkeeper Heinrich Klaasen took a straightforward catch as the ball popped up high in the air. In the fifth over, Kartik Tyagi had a wild start by bowling two wides and a no-ball. But the Uttar Pradesh cricketer bounced back to take the crucial wicket of England opener Jason Roy. By the end of the powerplay, KKR was struggling at 49 for three and facing another subpar performance. However, skipper Nitish Rana and Rinku Singh put together a much-needed 61-run partnership. Although KKR kept losing wickets regularly, they managed to surpass the 170-run mark, thanks to Rinku’s contribution.

IPL 2023, SRH VS KKR: Chakaravarthy’s Last over Heroics Inspires Kolkata to a Win

IPL 2023, SRH VS KKR: Kolkata Prevail in Last-over Battle versus Hyderabad
IPL 2023, SRH VS KKR: Kolkata Prevail in Last-over Battle versus Hyderabad

SRH made a decent start in pursuit of 172 runs before losing four quick wickets. Mayank Agarwal and Abhishek Sharma opened the innings and added 29 runs before Harshit Rana dismissed Agarwal for 18. Shardul Thakur then took the wicket of Abhishek for 9. Rahul Tripathi scored 20 off 9 balls but was unable to capitalize on his start and got out. Harry Brook was dismissed for a duck by Anukul Roy as SRH fell to 54 for 4. However, Aiden Markram and Heinrich Klaasen rescued SRH with a partnership of 70 runs off 47 balls for the fifth wicket. The partnership was broken in the 15th over when Thakur took Klaasen’s wicket for 36. SRH needed only 38 runs from the last 5 overs.

Best IPL Odds Available

Varun Chakaravarthy’s 18th over went for just 5 runs, leaving SRH to score 21 runs from the last two overs. Vaibhav Arora began the 19th over well by dismissing Marco Jansen before conceding 3 fours. SRH required 9 runs from the final over, which Chakravarthy bowled brilliantly, conceding only 2 runs and a leg bye, while also taking the wicket of Abdul Samad to give KKR a stunning victory.

Share this post!

Write a Reply or Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *