In a dominant display, Yashasvi Jaiswal played an outstanding innings to help Rajasthan Royals (RR) secure a comfortable nine-wicket victory over Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) at the Eden Gardens on May 11. KKR’s defeat saw them slip down to seventh place in the IPL 2023 standings, with 10 points from 12 matches and a net run rate of -0.357. In contrast, RR climbed up to third place in the points table.

Pick of the Day

Gujarat Titans will hit most fours

MI vs GT | 12 May 19:30 PMBet ₹500, payout ₹995

Dafabet Welcome Offer

UP TO ₹16,000 throughout the IPL


KKR VS RR Match Highlights:

KKR VS RR, Last Match Scorecard: Highlights and Results for IPL 2023 Match No.56
KKR VS RR, Last Match Scorecard: Highlights and Results for IPL 2023 Match No.56
  • Rajasthan Royals won the toss and chose to bowl first.
  • KKR openers Jason Roy and Rahmanullah Gurbaz failed to perform during the powerplay.
  • Trent Boult took two crucial wickets, dismissing Roy for 10 in the third over and Gurbaz in the fifth over, leaving KKR struggling at 29 for 2.
  • Nitish Rana and Venkatesh Iyer then built a 48-run partnership before Yuzvendra Chahal broke the stand by dismissing Rana for 22, taking the first of his 4 wickets.
  • Andre Russell was promoted in the batting order but could only score a run-a-ball 10 before being dismissed in the 14th over when the score was 107.
  • Venkatesh Iyer completed his fifty but Chahal ended his innings before he could accelerate and score more runs.
  • Chahal continued his excellent performance, dismissing Iyer and Shardul Thakur in the 17th over, leaving KKR at 6 down for 129.
  • Chahal also dismissed Rinku Singh for 16 in the 19th over, effectively ending KKR’s chances of a strong finish.
  • KKR finished their innings at 149 runs.
  • The Royals started off their chase of 150 runs in a blazing fashion.
  • Yashasvi Jaiswal was the star of the chase, hitting Nitish Rana for 26 runs in the first over.
  • Jos Buttler was run-out for a duck in the second over, but Jaiswal continued his onslaught and hit Harshit Rana for a four and a six in the same over.
  • Jaiswal hit Shardul Thakur for three consecutive fours in the third over to score the fastest-ever IPL fifty in just 13 balls.
  • He continued to hit more fours in the next two overs to keep the momentum going.
  • Sanju Samson joined the party in the sixth over, hitting Varun Chakravarthy for a four and a six to help his team reach 78 for 1 at the end of the powerplay.
  • Jaiswal hit a six in the seventh and eighth over to help his team collect 10 runs from each of those overs.
  • KKR then bowled two tight overs, conceding only 9 runs, before Samson hit Anukul Roy for three sixes in the 11th over.
  • RR eventually reached the target in just 13.1 overs with 9 wickets in hand.

KKR VS RR, 1st Inning Scorecard:

KKR BattersRR Bowlers
Jason Roy- 10(8)
Rahmanullah Gurbaz- 18(12)
Venkatesh Iyer- 57(42)
Nitish Rana- 22(17)
Andre Russell- 10(10)
Rinku Singh- 16(18)
Shardul Thakur- 1(2)
Anukul Roy- 6(6)
Sunil Narine- 6(5)

Trent Boult- 2/15 (3)
Sandeep Sharma- 1/34 (4)
Ravichandran Ashwin- 0/32 (4)
Joe Root- 0/14 (2)
Yuzvendra Chahal- 4/25 (4)
KM Asif- 1/27 (3)

KKR VS RR, 2nd Inning Scorecard:

RR BattersKKR Bowlers
Yashasvi Jaiswal- 98(47)
Jos Buttler- 0(3)
Sanju Samson- 48(29)

Nitish Rana- 0/26 (1)
Harshit Rana- 0/22 (2)
Shardul Thakur- 0/18 (1.1)
Varun Chakaravarthy- 0/28 (3)
Sunil Narine- 0/13 (2)
Suyash Sharma- 0/22 (3)
Anukul Roy- 0/20 (1)

Best IPL Odds Available

KKR VS RR Match Result

Rajasthan Royals won the game by nine wickets.

Share this post!

Write a Reply or Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *