Former Indian player Virender Sehwag was announced as the skipper of the India Maharajas side for the inaugural edition of the Legends League Cricket, which is slated to commence on 20th January. The entire tournament will take place at Muscat Cricket Stadium in Oman.

The former Indian opener has experience of leading the national side. He has also led Delhi Daredevils and Kings XI Punjab in the Indian Premier League.

Legendary fielder Mohammad Kaif has been appointed as Sehwag’s successor, while John Buchanan will serve as the head coach of the Indian side. Both Kaif and Sehwag have played in the IPL and represented India Legends in the Road Safety Series.

Former Pakistan cricketer Mishab-ul-Haq and T20 World Cup-winning skipper Darren Sammy will lead the Asia Lions and World Giants, respectively in the Legends League Cricket 2022.

Sri Lankan all-rounder Tillakaratne Dilshan will serve as Mishab’s deputy, while Arjuna Ranatunga will serve as the Lions’ head coach. Meanwhile, former South African player Jonty Rhodes has been appointed as the player cum mentor for the Giants.

Indian Women’s Cricket Jhulan Goswami was appointed as the ambassador of the Legends League Cricket. Moreover, all-women match officials will officiate for the first time in a men’s league. The League League Cricket has taken a step to promote women empowerment across the globe.

India Maharajas will take on Asia Lions in the season opener of the competition on January 20 at Muscat Cricket Stadium in Oman. Both sides will look to start their campaign on a positive note.

Here’s BBL points table 2022 updates. 

Legends League Cricket Squads

India Maharajas: Virender Sehwag (C), Mohammed Kaif (VC), Yuvraj Singh, Harbhajan Singh, Irfan Pathan, Yusuf Pathan, Sanjay Bangar, RP Singh, Pragyan Ojha, Subramanium Badrinath, Naman Ojha, Munaf Patel, Manpreet Gony, Nayan Mongia, Hemang Badani, Venugopal Rao, Stuart Binny.

Asia Lions: Misbah ul Haq (C), Tillakaratne Dilshan (VC), Shoaib Akhtar, Shahid Afridi, Sanath Jayasuriya, Muttiah Muralitharan, Chaminda Vaas, Mohammad Hafeez, Umar Gul, Asghar Afghan, Upul Tharanga, Kamran Akmal, Mohammad Yousuf, Nuwan Kulasekara, Romesh Kaluwitharana, Azhar Mahmood.

World Giants: Daren Sammy (C), Kevin Pietersen, Jonty Rhodes, Brett Lee, Herschelle Gibbs, Imran Tahir, Daniel Vettori, Corey Anderson, Morne Morkel, Brad Haddin, Kevin O’Brien, Brendan Taylor, Monty Panesar, Albie Morkel, Owais Shah.

Get free expert cricket tips and tricks here on our website.

Share this post!