Mitchell Marsh has been named captain of a 14-member Australian team for the three-match T20 series against the West Indies. The 32-year-old all-rounder, who previously led the team on a tour of South Africa in August-September last year, emerged as a formidable candidate for captaincy at the T20 World Cup late this year.

Cricket Australia has not yet officially confirmed his appointment. Another potential captain in the West Indies series, Pat Cummins and Mitchell stac, was rested due to minor physical problems. The two are expected to return for the series with New Zealand, Australia’s last T20 assignment before the World Cup.

Senior batter Steve Smith was also absent and rested after the trial as an opener in the series against India. Matt Short, who has performed well in the recent Big Bash League season with 541 runs, is expected to open with Active David Warner.Maxwell and pace bowler Nathan Ellis are back in the squad for the ODIs. The team will meet on February 7, two days before the opening game at Hobart.

Australia T20I Squad vs West Indies: Mitchell Marsh (C), Sean Abbott, Jason Behrendorf, Tim David, Nathan Ellis, Josh Hazelwood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Glenn Maxwell, Matt Short, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa.

Share this post!

Write a Reply or Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *