At the Sir Vivian Richards Stadium on Thursday, Australian legend Ricky Ponting presented the ICC Men’s Cricketer of the Year award to star pacer Pat Cummins. Ponting, an ICC Hall of Famer and a two-time recipient of the same accolade in 2006 and 2007, handed over the trophy to Cummins in recognition of his stellar performance in 2023.

Pat Cummins Named ICC Men’s Cricketer of the Year 2023

Cummins, as captain of both the Test and One Day International teams, led Australia to a remarkable year, clinching the World Test Championship at The Oval against India and later defeating the same opponent in the ODI World Cup final in Ahmedabad.

Cummins had an outstanding individual year, taking 42 Test wickets at an average of 27.50 and scoring 254 runs. Under his leadership, Australia secured a Test win in India and retained the Ashes away from home. Cummins was also instrumental in Australia’s World Cup success, claiming 15 wickets and contributing 128 runs at an average of 32 down the order.

With the opportunity to add a T20 World Cup triumph in 2024, Cummins has the chance to lead Australia to victories in both the white-ball World Cup and the World Test Championship.

In 2024, Cummins has continued to impress, taking 17 Test wickets at an average of 25.64 and scoring 157 runs at an average of 26. In T20Is, he has taken five wickets in as many matches, maintaining an economy rate of less than eight.

Australia Beat Bangladesh in Super 8

Recently, Cummins played Australia’s Super 8 match against Bangladesh in the ongoing ICC T20 World Cup 2024 where Australia won the match by 28 runs via DLS method.

In the match, despite Najmul Hossain Shanto’s resilient 41 and Towhid Hridoy’s quick-fire 40, Cummins’ remarkable hat-trick helped Australia restrict Bangladesh to 140/8. Alongside Cummins, Adam Zampa also excelled with the ball, sharing five wickets between them. Towhid Hridoy’s 40 off 28 balls was the highlight for Bangladesh as they reached a total of 140 runs.

With the bat, David Warner and Travis Head gave Australia a flying start as both added 65 runs 7 overs for the opening partnership. Although Mitchell Marsh departed soon after, Warner and Maxwell were just continuing the momentum when rain interfered the match.

The match never resumed again as Australia won the match via DLS method. Australia were needed to be 72 for 2 in 11.2 overs but they had already scored 100 runs for the loss of 2 wickets and won the by match 28 runs via DLS method.

Share this post!

Write a Reply or Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *