In an update on the news of Sourav Ganguly leaving the position of the BCCI president, Roger Binny could come up as his replacement. While the reasons are not clear, it is expected that Sourav Ganguly’s interest in the position of ICC chairman may be why he doesn’t want to continue with the current position. Ganguly will part ways with the cricketing board after October while Jay Shah will continue to serve as the secretary.

On October 18, BCCI will have its annual general meeting in Mumbai. In addition to the meeting, there will be elections for the position of the BCCI president, vice president, secretary, joint secretary, and treasurer. Binny’s name sprang to prominence in the contest after his name appeared as a delegate of the Karnataka State Cricket Association rather than KSCA secretary Santosh Menon.

Featured Pick

Babar Azam’s score will be over 26.5

NZ vs PAK | 8 Oct 11:30 AMBet ₹500, payout ₹935

10Cric Welcome Offer

100% up to ₹30,000 + 10 Free Spins


A report by Sportstar stated that “Earlier, KSCA’s Santosh Menon would represent the KSCA in the BCCI AGM. But Binny will represent Karnataka unit this time, while Sourav Ganguly will represent the Cricket Association of Bengal. It is too early to predict anything. The nominations will be filed next week, only then things could be clear.”

Elections for BCCI president, and Vice-President to be on October 18

The previous month in a plea to the supreme court to extend the tenure, the ruling was in the favour of the BCCI. As per the original rulings anyone in the position who has served for 2 back-to-back tenures, will require an off time of 3 years. However, with the leniency by the court, there was an extension in the duration for BCCI President Sourav Ganguly and BCCI secretary Jay Shah.

With the new elections on October 18, those willing to contest in elections can enrol and withdraw their names by the 14th of October. As for Roger Binny, he was already a part of BCCI’s selection committee in the past. Binny made his debut for India in 1979 and retired in 1987. He was a part of India’s 1983 world cup winning team. The all-rounder played in 27 tests and 72 one-day internationals. In test matches, he had 47 wickets and 830 runs whereas in ODIs it was 77 wickets and 629 runs.

Share this post!