SL vs AUS: Sri Lanka have announced a strong 18-member squad for the T20I against Australia at home. Wanindu Hasaranga and Bhanuka Rajapaksa have returned to the Sri Lankan T20 side for the three-match series, starting June 7. Hasaranga was initially selected for their last international tour to India earlier this year but missed the T20Is due to covid. Meanwhile, Rajapaksa was left out due to fitness concerns. If you are searching for the best trusted betting sites in India, you are in the ideal place!


Outright Winner of T20 Blast 2022: Kent

GLA vs ESS | 2 Jun 23:30 PMBet ₹500, payout ₹13000

Betway Welcome Offer

100% Bonus up to ₹2,500


The duo has, however, made their way back on the back of a stellar run in the recently concluded IPL. The leggie finished with 26 wickets in a breakout IPL debut season with Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB). He missed the purple cap by a whisker to Yuzvendra Chahal who took 27 wickets in 16 innings. Hasaranga, who is 6th in the T20I rankings, played a key role to help RCB reach the playoffs.

SL vs AUS: Rajapaksa has impressed with his attacking play in IPL debut

SL vs AUS: Hasaranga Rajapaksa Return As Sri Lanka Name 18 Member Squad for T20Is Series vs Australia
SL vs AUS: Hasaranga Rajapaksa Return As Sri Lanka Name 18 Member Squad for T20Is Series vs Australia

The wicket-keeper batter had to sacrifice his place upon Jonny Bairstow’s arrival. However, despite that, Rajapaksa accumulated 209 runs with a strike rate just shy of 160. He frequently chipped in with crucial cameos for PBKS at number 3. Rajapaksa’s last appearance for Sri Lanka in the shortest format was in the 2021 Men’s T20 World Cup match against West Indies in the UAE, which they won by 20 runs.

Rajapaksa replaces wicketkeeper Dinesh Chandimal in the squad. The Sri Lanka veteran has lost his place after poor performances on white-ball tours to Australia and India. He scored 61 runs in four T20Is in Australia before being dropped for the final game, and 41 runs in three innings in India, with a best of 22. Apart from Chandimal, Dhananjaya de Silva and Lahiru Kumara have also been left out. Meanwhile, Niroshan Dickwella and leggie Jeffrey Vandersay have been named as reserve players. More free betting tips and match guides from professional betting tipsters here on our site.

Sri Lanka have also picked 19-year-old Matheesha Pathirana. The young pace sensation recently received high praise from MS Dhoni in the IPL. CSK signed Pathirana as a replacement for Adam Milne after he impressed at the U-19 World Cup. Pathirana has an identical bowling action to Lasith Malinga. The right-arm quick appeared in two games for the team and has already been touted as a key bowler for next season.

Share this post!