Cricket South Africa on Saturday (March 11) revealed the list of centrally contracted senior South African men cricketers. The board has added four more players to the contract list, increasing the number from 16 to 20. This gives the board the luxury to have a wider pool of players for white and red-ball assignments. CSA announced the Proteas Men’s contracted squad for the 2023-24 season, starting May 1. Marco Jansen, Sisanda Magala, Ryan Rickelton, and Bjorn Fortuin as the newcomers to the Proteas’ group of nationally contracted players.

Pick of the Day

Top Peshawar Zalmi Player: Babar Azam

ISLU vs PZ | 12 Mar 14:30 PMBet ₹500, payout ₹1100

Dafabet Welcome Offer

UP TO ₹16,000 throughout the IPL


Wicket-keeper batter Heinrich Klaasen, who is back in the all-format scheme of things, earns a contract upgrade during the course of the past season and has been retained for the upcoming season. Veteran left-arm pacer Wayne Parnell also makes his return to the list of contracted players.

The Proteas are currently playing a two-match Test series at home against the West Indies. Some of the players involved in that series- left-handed batter Tony de Zorzi, all-rounder Wiaan Mulder, off-spinner Simon Harmer and seamer Gerald Coetzee have missed out on earning contracts.

Key South African Players Miss Out on the Contract

South Africa Men’s Contracted List for 2023/24 Revealed by CSA
South Africa Men’s Contracted List for 2023/24 Revealed by CSA

CSA has left out a few of the familiar names such as Andile Phehlukwayo, Janneman Malan, and Dwaine Pretorius. While Pretorius has retired from international cricket, Phehlukwayo and Malan have been ignored for this season, starting May 1.

Best WPL Odds Available

“We are really excited by the mix of experienced and younger players that have been contracted this season as we continue to build a world-class outfit under the leadership of red and white-ball head coaches Shukri Conrad and Rob Walter,” said Pholetsi Moseki, CSA’s Chief Executive Officer.

“We look forward to seeing them compete at the highest level in what is an important next 12 months for the limited-overs and Test sides, with the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup taking place later this year as well as the start of the new World Test Championship cycle,” Enoch Nkwe, CSA’s director of cricket said.

South Africa Centrally Contracted Players:

Temba Bavuma, Quinton de Kock, Dean Elgar, Bjorn Fortuin, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, Marco Jansen, Sisanda Magala, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Wayne Parnell, Keegan Petersen, Kagiso Rabada, Ryan Rickelton, Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs, Rassie van der Dussen.

Share this post!