T20 World Cup: India is currently preparing for the most important event of 2022, the T20 World Cup 2022 in Australia. They are currently playing two warm-up games against Western Australia XI in Perth. The first game ended in a win for India, with a 13-run win. On the other hand, the second warm-up match is underway at the W.A.C.A. ground. Well, ahead of the WT20, India’s biggest issue is their fast bowling attack. They are struggling with their pacers’ form.

On top of that, India suffered a huge blow when star pacer Jasprit Bumrah was ruled out of the tournament. However, India hasn’t officially announced his replacement in the team. But there are clear indications that veteran pacer Mohammed Shami will replace him in the team. The 32-year-old flew to Australia on Wednesday to join the squad.

Featured Pick

Pakistan’s total in the highest scoring over will be under 17.5

NZ vs PAK | 14 Oct 07:30 AMBet ₹500, payout ₹950

10Cric Welcome Offer

100% up to ₹30,000 + 10 Free Spins


T20 World Cup: Mohammed Shami flew to Australia, is likely to replace injured Jasprit Bumrah

T20 World Cup: Mohammed Shami Left to Australia to Replace Injured Jasprit Bumrah in Squad for T20 WC: Reports
T20 World Cup: Mohammed Shami Left to Australia to Replace Injured Jasprit Bumrah in Squad for T20 WC: Reports

Shami was doing his rehab program at the National Cricket Academy (NCA) in Bengaluru has left for Australia on Wednesday. He, along with Mohammed Siraj and Shardul Thakur, had travelled to Australia from Mumbai. All three of these players are among the contenders to replace Bumrah. Because the BCCI hasn’t officially confirmed any replacement. So it will be interesting to see who will replace the 28-year-old.

An official source told Cricbuzz that Shami is the favorite to replace Bumrah in the team. Siraj and Thakur are going as reserves because Deepak Chahar was also ruled out of the tournament. India will play Australia in their first warm-up game on October 17 at The Gabba, Brisbane. Then they will face New Zealand on October 19 at the same venue. The Men in Blue will open their campaign on October 23 (Sunday) against Pakistan at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.

Indian Squad for T20 World Cup: Rohit Sharma (C), KL Rahul (vc), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Dinesh Karthik (wk), Deepak Hooda, Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Ravi Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, and Arshdeep Singh. 

Reserves: Shreyas Iyer, Mohammed Siraj, and Shardul Thakur

Share this post!