Ranji Trophy 2022: S Sreesanth is about to participate in the 2022 Ranji Trophy, according to the latest news. S Sreesanth, the ICC T20 World Cup 2007 and ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 champion are now in Kerala’s 20-member team for the next Ranji Trophy season. S Sreesanth is in joy at the prospect of returning to red-ball cricket after nearly nine years away. For every budding cricketer, the experienced pacer’s comeback tale is encouraging in many ways.

 Sachin Baby will be the captain of the team. Vishnu Vinod, on the other hand, is now the vice-captain. Meanwhile, Sanju Samson is recovering at the National Cricket Academy (NCA). He will join the Kerala side whenever he is fit to play. The regular Kerala skipper was recently at Bengaluru’s National Cricket Academy working on his fitness. A photo of Sanju Samson, Ravindra Jadeja, and Rohit Sharma recently went popular on social media.

The Ranji Trophy, India’s most prestigious domestic tournament, was did not take place last year owing to the Covid-19 outbreak. However, BCCI secretary Jay Shah has mentioned that the major domestic cricket tournament will be split into two phases. The tournament’s first phase, which will consist of league stage matches, will take place from February 10 to March 15 at various locations around the country.

Varun Nayanar, Edhen Apple Tom, Anand Krishnan, and Fanoos F are among the four debutants in the final team.

Ranji Trophy 2022: S Sreesanth Returns to Cricket With His Inclusion in Kerala’s Ranji Trophy Squad
Ranji Trophy 2022: S Sreesanth Returns to Cricket With His Inclusion in Kerala’s Ranji Trophy Squad

Sachin Baby named as Captain of Kerala Team

Ranji Trophy 2022: Sachin Baby will captain Kerala in the Ranji Trophy. Mohammed Azharuddeen, the opening batsman, is not in the squad, but there are four newcomers: Anand Krishnan, Fanoos F, Varun Nayanar, and Eden Apple Tom. Between February 17 and March 6, Kerala, which is in the Elite-A category, will play in Rajkot. Meghalaya, Gujarat, and Madhya Pradesh are the other teams in the group.

Kerala Squad: Sachin Baby (Cap), Vishnu Vinod (V.Cap, WK), Anand Krishnan, Rohan Kunnumel, Vatsal Govind, Rahul P, Salman Nizar, Jalaj Saxena, Sijomon Joseph, Akshay KC, Mithun S, Basil NP, Nideesh MD, Manu Krishnan, Basil Thampi, Fanoos F, Sreesanth S, Varun Nayanar, Vinoop Manoharan, Eden Apple Tom.

Kerala’s fixtures

 Meghalaya – Feb 17-20

Gujarat – Feb 24-27  

Madhya Pradesh – Mar 3-6

Ranji Trophy 2022: Ranji Trophy will take place in 9 Venues

The first part of the Ranji Trophy will begin on February 10 and end on March 15, with the second phase taking place after the IPL, from May 30 to June 26. The event will include 38 teams and nine venues.

Kolkata, Chennai, Rajkot, Delhi, Ahmedabad, Guwahati, Cuttack, Trivandrum, and Haryana are among the nine cities where matches will take place.

Share this post!