‘Umpire’s call’ – Marylebone Cricket Club on Fakhar Zaman’s run out controversy
A huge controversy erupted post Fakhar Zaman’s controversial run out in the second ODI between South Africa and Pakistan. Zaman was unfortunately run out, agonizingly short of a magnificent double hundred, for 193 in the final over of Pakistan’s chase. South African wicketkeeper Quinton de Kock foxed him by portraying as if the ball is going to the bowler’s end, which made Fakhar look back and a direct hit from Aiden Markram caught him short.
Is parimatch legal in india? Yes, There are no laws that online betting is prohibited.
The Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) has now given its opinion on the issues. The Club has said that it was up to the umpires to decide whether De Kock attempted to distract the batsman or not. Taking to Twitter, MCC posted a law relating to Zaman’s dismissal. The law states that it is unfair for a fielder to distract the batsman after the striker has received the ball.
“It is unfair for any fielder wilfully to attempt, by word or action, to distract, deceive or obstruct either batsman after the striker has received the ball.”
However, they cleared that it will be up to the umpires to decide whether the fielder was attempting to distract the batsman or not.
The Law is clear, with the offence being an ATTEMPT to deceive, rather than the batsman actually being deceived.
It’s up to the umpires to decide if there was such an attempt. If so, then it's Not out, 5 Penalty runs + the 2 they ran, and batsmen choose who faces next ball.
— Marylebone Cricket Club (@MCCOfficial) April 4, 2021
“The Law is clear, with the offence being an ATTEMPT to deceive, rather than the batsman actually being deceived. It’s up to the umpires to decide if there was such an attempt. If so, then it’s Not out, 5 Penalty runs + the 2 they ran, and batsmen choose who faces next ball.”
Despite missing out on a well deserved double hundred, Fakhar Zaman refused to blame the South African wicketkeeper. Check this online cricket betting tips free from experts.
“The fault was mine, as I was too busy looking out for Haris Rauf at the other end, as I felt he started off a little late from his crease, so I thought he was in trouble. The rest is up to the match referee, but I don’t think it’s Quinton’s fault.”