Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022: Records are made to be broken in any sport. And with the amount of cricket to be played around the world, it is very hard for a record to stick for very long. That’s what happened in the ongoing Vijay Hazare Trophy in India, where Tamil Nadu star batter Narayan Jagadeesan went past the former Sri Lankan skipper and legendary batter Kumar Sangakkara to set a unique record in List A cricket.

The wicket keeper batter is in the form of his life and is currently the leading run-scorer in the ongoing competition. He has scored 624 runs in six games at an incredible average of 156.00 and a strike rate of 105.67. Jagadeesan has also scored five consecutive centuries in the competition to break Sangakkara’s record in List A cricket.

Pick of the Day

India. Exact runs total. Innings #1.Over #1: 5 and Less

NZ vs IND | 22 Nov 12:00 PMBet ₹500, payout ₹1080

Parimatch Welcome Offer

150% Bonus up to ₹30,000


Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022: Narayan Jagadeesan went past Kumar Sangakkara for a unique record

Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022: Tamil Nadu Star Narayan Jagadeesan Went Past Kumar Sangakkara to Script a Unique World Record
Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022: Tamil Nadu Star Narayan Jagadeesan Went Past Kumar Sangakkara to Script a Unique World Record

List A cricket game features all those one-day games, including all domestic tournaments, which have an over limit of 40 to 60. The Tamil Nadu batter surpassed the Sri Lankan legend in a game against Arunachal Pradesh. In that game, the right-hander scored his fifth consecutive century in the ongoing tournament. He also went past the likes of Virat Kohli, Prithvi Shaw, Ruturaj Gaikwad, and Devdutt Padikkal for scoring over four back-to-back centuries in the single edition of the Vijay Hazare Trophy.

Notably, Jagadeesan reached his fifth consecutive century and broke Sangakkara records that he made in the 2015 ODI World Cup. The former Sri Lanka skipper made four consecutive centuries in that tournament. He scored 105 not out against Bangladesh, followed by 117 not out against England. Then, he scored 104 against Australia and 124 against Scotland to complete four consecutive centuries. Sanga finished the tournament as the second-highest run-scorer. He made a total of 541 runs at an average of 108.20.

This is not it; he also went past the record set by Indian skipper Rohit Sharma for scoring the highest individual score in a one-day game. Rohit scored 264 runs against Sri Lanka. At the same time, Jagadeesan played a mammoth inning of 277 runs off 141 balls for Arunachal Pradesh to help his team reach 506/2 in 50 overs.

Share this post!