Women’s IPL: On January 25, the Women’s Indian Premier League (IPL)’s franchise names and the cities from where they will play will likely be made public by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). This was first reported by ESPNCricinfo on Thursday. On that day, the franchises’ financial offers, which are currently sealed in envelopes, will be unwrapped.

Featured Pick

Total runs in the match will be under 323.5

STR vs HEA | 14 Jan 10:30 AMBet ₹500, payout ₹916

Megapari Welcome Offer

130% up to ₹22,100


However, BCCI has stated in its tender document that it is not “obliged to accept the highest monetary offer”. And would rather engage with bidders to improve women’s cricket in the nation. Inviting bids to buy and run the five WIPL franchises, which will eventually begin on March 3. And go until Match 26, the BCCI posted a tender last week. A single bidder may compete for more than one city, BCCI has noted in the Invitation to Tender (ITT) document.

Women’s IPL: Venues In The List

In the tender, BCCI has chosen 10 cities and venues in total. The list includes cities with stadiums such as Ahmedabad’s Narendra Modi Stadium, which has a seating capacity of 112,560. Kolkata’s Eden Gardens, which can hold 65,000 spectators, Chennai’s MA Chidambaram Stadium, which can hold 50,000, Bangalore’s M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Guwahati’s Barsapara Stadium, 38,650, Delhi’s Arun Jaitley Stadium, which can hold 55,000 spectators, Dharamsala’s HPCA Stadium. Despite the fact that Mumbai has three designated venues. BCCI has stated that just one of the three grounds will be utilized due to “availability and other circumstances”.

The BCCI did not present the state associations of the sport with the 10-city pool proposal at its Annual General Meeting (AGM) the previous year. At that time, BCCI planned to either select one city from each of the six zones in India or host the tournament in six different places without providing five teams with adequate home bases. Additional to Dharamsala, Guwahati, and Indore, teams in the men’s IPL have home bases in seven other cities.

Bidders are required to submit a price for 10 seasons, BCCI has not established a starting price. Although the board has said that the winning bidder will only receive one franchise, bidders do have the option of competing for more than one franchise or city.

Women’s IPL: The Process Of Bidding

“The stadium with the highest bid amount will be awarded first. Thereafter, the stadium with the next highest bid amount will be awarded.”

The BCCI said

The BCCI has stated that a re-bid would be held in the event that the two highest bids for the same location end up being equal. The BCCI will have the “discretion to pick the order” if the top offers for two sites and two bidders are identical. If a bidder submits the highest offer for more than one ground, BCCI is free to choose the location.

Share this post!