After dominating for years in the IPL, the Mumbai Indians franchise is continuing their success in the WPL too. Prior to the game last night, both Mumbai Indians and Delhi Capitals were undefeated but the Mumbai-based franchise added another victory under their belt. Meg Lanning’s team, which is one of the strongest teams in the competition, couldn’t stand a chance against Harmanpreet Kaur and her team.

Meg Lanning won the toss and decided to bat first. The dangerous-looking Verma and Lanning duo couldn’t click as Mumbai Indians’ Saika Ishaque dismissed Verma in the second over. Apart from captain Lanning and Jemimah Rodrigues, no other batter could cross the 15 runs mark. Mumbai Indians bowlers gave no room for the opposition to score any extra run whatsoever. Saika Ishaque, Issy Wong, and Hayley Matthews picked up 3 wickets each.

Harmanpreet Kaur credits bowlers for Mumbai Indians’ undefeated winning streak

WPL: Mumbai Indians Stay Undefeated Wins Their Third Consecutive Game
Harmanpreet Kaur

Yastika Bhatia and Hayley Matthews came out to chase a below-par target of 106 runs. The Mumbai Indians openers had 65 runs opening stand after which Yastika was out for 41 and Hayley for 32. Nonetheless, skipper Harmanpreet Kaur along with Nat Sciver Burnt stayed till the end and finished the game with 30 balls left. The win against Delhi Capitals will mark the third consecutive victory for Mumbai Indians who now are the only undefeated team.

Best WPL Odds Available

Speaking about the victory, Mumbai Indians captain Harmanpreet Kaur said, “Today our bowlers did really well. They’re making my job easier. Whoever comes in is eager to bowl. When you have so many options, your job is so easy. Credit to our bowlers. Bowling according to the field is key in T20s and we’re able to do that. After the last game, we all discussed that we bowled some bad balls. Yastika and Hayley gave us a really good start. Now the tournament is going to start because the pitches are going to be on the slower side.”

Mumbai Indians have retained their top spot in the points table. Moreover, Saika Ishaque is the purple cap holder with 9 wickets. Hayley Matthews is second on the purple cap holder list. The team has a couple of days’ break before they face UP Warriorz next on Sunday, March 12.

Share this post!